Shop - La Vendemiaire The site of the Cooperative Winery La Vendémiaire of Fleury d'Aude in French The site of the Cooperative Winery La Vendémiaire of Fleury d'Aude in English

History

Relive the story of the birth of the Cooperative Winery La Vendémiaire of Fleury and Salles d'Aude

The history of La Vendémiaire

This is in the early 1900's that the small producers of the country formed an alliance to develop a force and a social cohesion in order to deal with the large farms. Their desire to band together made rapidly room to the creation of the first cooperative wineries in 1913. Even today, the cooperative wineries represent an important social benefit but also a huge economical, technological and human progress.

The birth of La Vendémiaire

The cooperative winery of FLEURY-SALLES was founded in 1936 – 1937 and opened their doors during the grape harvests in 1938 and was called LA VENDEMIAIRE. The cooperative winery was created thanks to the efforts of winegrowers from the villages of Fleury d'Aude and Salles d'Aude, both united around the president, Léopold Canal, and established on the territory of the township of Fleury.

This exceptional alliance contributes to the wealth and the diversity of a supply ensured by winemakers with passion. The wine cellar remained independent and counts nowadays no less than 185 members and produces an average of 70 000 hectoliters every year on a 1000 hectares territory. This development of the production led to steady quality efforts in order to select only the best grapes and thus to express all the typicality and authenticity of its terroirs.

Today, the cooperative winery of Fleury-Salles has evolved considerably. The replacement of old and very productive varieties of wines by new ones; more restrictive but much more aromatic; has modified the production into a wine quality on a name of La Clape and a type of wine from Pays d'Oc. Thanks to its wide and diverse range which is moreover very much appreciated by visitors, La Vendémiaire is known as a key reference of the quality and know-how of great southern France wines.

Boutique - La Vendemiaire Le site de la Cave Coopérative La Vendémiaire de Fleury d'Aude en Français Le site de la Cave Coopérative La Vendémiaire de Fleury d'Aude en Anglais

L'Histoire

Revivez l'histoire de la naissance de la Cave Coopérative La Vendémiaire à Fleury et Salles d'Aude

L’histoire de la Vendémiaire

C’est aux débuts des années 1900 que les petits producteurs de la région se sont alliés pour développer une force et une cohésion sociale afin de faire face aux grandes exploitations. Leur désir de se regrouper va rapidement laisser place à la création des premières coopératives de vinification vers 1913. Aujourd’hui encore, les caves coopératives représentent une avancée sociale importante ainsi qu’un énorme progrès économique, technologique et humain.

La naissance de la Vendémiaire

La cave coopérative de FLEURY-SALLES fondée en 1936-1937, ouvre ses portes pour les vendanges de 1938 et est baptisée LA VENDEMIAIRE. Elle est créée grâce à l’initiative des viticulteurs des villages de Fleury d’Aude et Salles d’Aude groupés autour du président, Léopold Canal, et érigée sur le territoire de la commune de Fleury.

Cette alliance exceptionnelle contribue à la richesse et à la diversité d’un approvisionnement assuré par des vignerons passionnés. La cave est restée indépendante, elle compte 185 adhérents et produit sur 1 000 hectares en moyenne 70 000 hectolitres par an. Ce développement de la production s’est accompagné d’efforts qualitatifs constants afin de ne sélectionner que les meilleurs raisins et ainsi exprimer toute la typicité et l’authenticité de ses terroirs.

La cave coopérative de Fleury-Salles a aujourd’hui bien évoluée. Le remplacement des cépages anciens, très productifs, par de nouveaux cépages plus restrictifs, mais beaucoup plus aromatiques en a modifié la production en s’orientant vers une qualité de vins d’appellation clape et vins de cépages de Pays d’Oc. Avec sa gamme riche et variée, appréciée par un large public, La Vendémiaire s’affirme comme une référence incontournable de la qualité et du savoir-faire des grands vins du Sud de la France.