Shop - La Vendemiaire The site of the Cooperative Winery La Vendémiaire of Fleury d'Aude in French The site of the Cooperative Winery La Vendémiaire of Fleury d'Aude in English

The Terroir

Emblematic soil of Languedoc, the Massif of Clape gives the wines of the Cooperative Winery La Vendémiaire of Fleury d'Aude Salles all their singularity

La Clape, a historic soil

This is in the largest natural area situated in the Languedoc-Roussillon region called the Massif de la Clape, that La Vendémiaire 's wines are produced and aged with great care. Formerly called « Insula laci» due to its many lakes, the Massif de la Clape is situated at the gates of Narbonne and its name derives from the Occitan language which means « pile of stones ». Considered as a truly historic soil, Jules César rewarded it to some legionnaires of his troop who planted vines on the hillsides. The red wines represent the majority of the production. However, its particularity roots in its white wine with its relatively common grape variety called “bourboulenc”.

A privileged place

The vineyard of La Vendémiaire 's cooperative winery enjoys an exceptionnal priviledged place situated between sea and scrublands on the one hand and wetlands of l'Aude on the other hand. Overlooking the sea, the different grape varieties such as bourboulenc, grenache, merlot or even cabernet open up by reproducing all subtleties of the terroir. The Mediterranean climate, which is perfect for the vine, offers a low rainfall and a beautiful sunshine. Also, it can offer a sea wind that brings an inimitable characteritic to the production by contributing to wines with character proposed by La Vendémiaire.

Seemingly harsh and dry at first sight, La Clape is an environment hiding some natural wealth. Indeed, its clay-limestone and filtering soil in combination with a sunny climate and a closeness to the sea, offers perfect conditions for the wine growing.

Boutique - La Vendemiaire Le site de la Cave Coopérative La Vendémiaire de Fleury d'Aude en Français Le site de la Cave Coopérative La Vendémiaire de Fleury d'Aude en Anglais

Le Terroir

Terroir emblématique du Languedoc, le Massif de la Clape confère aux vins de la Cave Coopérative La Vendémiaire à Fleury et Salles d'Aude, toutes leur singularité

La Clape, un terroir historique

C’est dans le plus vaste site naturel classé en Languedoc-Roussillon, le Massif de la Clape, que les vins de La Vendémiaire sont élaborés et élevés avec le plus grand soin. Autrefois appelé, « Insula laci » en raison des ses nombreux lacs, le Massif de la Clape est situé aux portes de Narbonne, il doit son nom à la langue occitane qui signifie « tas de cailloux ». Véritable terroir historique, il est offert par Jules César comme récompense à quelques légionnaires de sa troupe, qui plantèrent alors des vignes sur les coteaux. Les vins rouges représentent la majorité de la production, cependant sa spécificité réside dans son vin blanc avec son cépage, bourboulenc, relativement répandu.

Une situation privilégiée

Le vignoble de la cave coopérative La Vendémiaire bénéficie d’une situation privilégiée exceptionnelle, entre mer et garrigue d’une part et dans la zone alluviale de l’Aude d’autre part. Surplombant la mer, les différents cépages comme le bourboulenc, le grenache, le merlot ou encore le cabernet s’épanouissent en restituant toutes les subtilités du terroir. Le climat méditerranéen, idéal pour la vigne, offre une faible pluviométrie, un bel ensoleillement et un vent avec des influences maritimes, qui apporte à la production une typicité inimitable, à l’origine des vins de caractère que La Vendémiaire propose.

La Clape, environnement apparemment sec et hostile au premier abord, cache ses richesses puisque le sol argilo-calcaire et filtrant, combiné au climat ensoleillé et à la proximité de la mer, offre des conditions idéales pour la viticulture.